A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D3 > D3 - Interior Electrics

D3 - Interior Electrics Airbags, Sensors, climate modules, instrument clusters, switches etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 25th March 2021, 05:38 PM
paulrstaylor paulrstaylor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,222
Default

Warning the same as the D2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th March 2021, 05:55 PM
HPsauce HPsauce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chilterns, almost over HS2!
Posts: 7,703
Default

Hence I misunderstood the initial question, which I read as if the car was supposed to stop accelerating at the set limit.
__________________
2003 D2 FL S8. Irish Green Pearl/Beige. Solar sunroof, auto-dim mirrors, electric rear seat functions, ski hatch retrofit; extended leather. Aftermarket DVB-T, reversing camera and full XCarlink (Bluetooth etc.).
2016 Volvo V40 T5 Cross Country (4WD) with ALL the toys including adaptive cruise etc. etc. Osmium Grey with Blonde/Charcoal leather interior. Polestar performance "optimisation". (A much rarer model than a D2 S8 by the way!)
Finally: gone, but not forgotten.....
1998 D2 PF S8. AgateGrey/Platinum. Every option (I think) except electric rear seats, tiptronic steering wheel, ski hatch, towbar & dimming door mirrors.
e.g. Cruise control, NavPlus/TV, Bose, GSM, Xenons, Solar roof, Parking sensors, Alcantara/leather everywhere of course. (internal dimming mirror added later)
1998 (very early) Ford Focus 1.8 Zetec; ABS/TCS, Heated screen/mirrors, Aircon, Auto-dim mirror, Leather, Trip computer, Cruise control, OEM Ford SatNav with CD changer.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th March 2021, 06:03 PM
Echo's Avatar
Echo Echo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Cheshire.
Posts: 62
Default

Yes, just a ding and red warning symbol at the top of the DIS. It disappears when the speedo goes above the set speed limit warning.

In my case:

Set at 60mph.........warning at 67mph, approx.

Set at 70mph.........warning at 77mph, approx.

Speedometer v speed limit...............one of them is fibbing........maybe both!

At least the warning mph's are consistent
__________________
2004 A8 D3 4E2 3.0ltr Petrol............baby A8

Last edited by Echo; 25th March 2021 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th March 2021, 12:54 PM
Echo's Avatar
Echo Echo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Cheshire.
Posts: 62
Default

Ok, had a look at VCDS - 17 - Instruments.



Went to Coding - 07. This popped up over the coding:



Clicked that off and here's the coding:



Couldn't figure out how to get to the 'bits' and 'bytes' part.

Had a look at this, starting at 1.28:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4PHXY-K9G0&t=110s

Seems my VCDS doesn't have any 'long coding helper' for the wheels
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WHEELS1.JPG
Views:	47
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	25953   Click image for larger version

Name:	WHEELS3.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	99.7 KB
ID:	25954   Click image for larger version

Name:	WHEELS2.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	25955  
__________________
2004 A8 D3 4E2 3.0ltr Petrol............baby A8
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th March 2021, 02:40 PM
mattylondon mattylondon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Norwich & L'viv
Posts: 1,641
Default

The only place I know that you can input any wheel data is in Adaptation Channel 01, Nav module. Format is wheel circumference in MM. It's supposed to be used to correct the navigation. It may or may not be used by 0x17 for the speed limit gong. Worth a try changing the value.
__________________
Matt

2004 A8 3.7q, 1998 A4 2.8q, 1994 Coupe 2.8q SORN,
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 26th March 2021, 03:18 PM
Echo's Avatar
Echo Echo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Cheshire.
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattylondon View Post
The only place I know that you can input any wheel data is in Adaptation Channel 01, Nav module. Format is wheel circumference in MM. It's supposed to be used to correct the navigation. It may or may not be used by 0x17 for the speed limit gong. Worth a try changing the value.
I'm bound to mess something in there Matty

Could you explain that in more detail please? In dummy language!

Anyway, how come the bloke in the vid has the wheel stuff on his VCDS and I haven't? I thought all VCDS would be the same?

This is my version:

VCDS Version: 21.3.0.0 (x64) HEX-V2 CB: 0.4543.4
Data version: 20210226 DS325.0
www.Ross-Tech.com
__________________
2004 A8 D3 4E2 3.0ltr Petrol............baby A8
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26th March 2021, 03:38 PM
mattylondon mattylondon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Norwich & L'viv
Posts: 1,641
Default

You'll be fine. Going from your previous posts you're doing well with VCDS.

Open 37-Navigation, then Adaptation, read channel 01, write down the current value just in case you may need it, then enter a new value (this will be you wheel circumference in mm), click Test then Save.

The guy in the video can access that info only because the control module lets him. He was working on a newer car platform and it is dependent what is written in the firmware, so it's not a feature missing from your VCDS. The software / firmware in the D3 is generations old now.
__________________
Matt

2004 A8 3.7q, 1998 A4 2.8q, 1994 Coupe 2.8q SORN,
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26th March 2021, 04:17 PM
Echo's Avatar
Echo Echo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Cheshire.
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattylondon View Post
You'll be fine. Going from your previous posts you're doing well with VCDS.

Open 37-Navigation, then Adaptation, read channel 01, write down the current value just in case you may need it, then enter a new value (this will be you wheel circumference in mm), click Test then Save.

The guy in the video can access that info only because the control module lets him. He was working on a newer car platform and it is dependent what is written in the firmware, so it's not a feature missing from your VCDS. The software / firmware in the D3 is generations old now.
Ok, thanks Matty, I think I've got that.

But what will changing the wheel circumference in the Nav module actually do?

I've put my new(17"), and old (20"), tyre details into this calculator:

https://tiresize.com/comparison/

That was inches. This one is mm:

https://tiresize.com/comparison/

So, I put in 2167.........yes/no?

And thanks for explaining the Youtube VCDS stuff

EDIT: Sorry, can't get the links to work properly. Just click on the inches and mm to compare.
__________________
2004 A8 D3 4E2 3.0ltr Petrol............baby A8

Last edited by Echo; 26th March 2021 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26th March 2021, 05:27 PM
mattylondon mattylondon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Norwich & L'viv
Posts: 1,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Echo View Post
But what will changing the wheel circumference in the Nav module actually do?
Well the Nav unit does want to know the wheel circumference and number of ABS wheel impulse. But like I said previous, it is for correcting the navigation. Whether or not this value is broadcast so other modules use it, I don't know. But it's worth changing the value if it makes any difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Echo View Post
So, I put in 2167.........yes/no?
Yes. Although you could experiment with obviously small and larger values.
__________________
Matt

2004 A8 3.7q, 1998 A4 2.8q, 1994 Coupe 2.8q SORN,
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26th March 2021, 05:30 PM
Echo's Avatar
Echo Echo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Cheshire.
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattylondon View Post
Well the Nav unit does want to know the wheel circumference and number of ABS wheel impulse. But like I said previous, it is for correcting the navigation. Whether or not this value is broadcast so other modules use it, I don't know. But it's worth changing the value if it makes any difference.



Yes. Although you could experiment with obviously small and larger values.
Ok, thanks Matty, I'll give it a go and report back.
__________________
2004 A8 D3 4E2 3.0ltr Petrol............baby A8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.