A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D3 > D3 - Common Faults

D3 - Common Faults Quick links to all known common faults and their solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2015, 03:50 PM
kmthor kmthor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Default phone

What do you guys do with the phone in your cars? Is there a provider that gives you 2 sims for one number?

is there an upgrade you can do that allows bluetooth? or some kind of workaround
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st March 2015, 05:36 PM
mannyo mannyo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Blandford, Dorset
Posts: 1,974
Default

I just use a Pay as you go SIM, and when in the car put a call divert on to the PAYG phone number. For the small usage I make using a PAYG sim works well, even if I do have to pay for the redirected leg of an incoming call.

Some new sim cards only work with version 5570 of the MMI software, you may get invalid SIM with most new cards until the MMI is upgraded.
__________________
Manny
2004 A4 1.8T Sport Cabriolet, 89K Miles
Past
2004 D3 A8 3.7 Quattro, Xenon, Bose, Blinds, Solar Sunroof, TV, ACC, phone and almost every option. 168K miles rising slowly
with retrofit AMI and DVB-T in place of Analogue
2003 Volvo S60 D5 SE Manual, 197K miles.
2001 D2 A8 3.7 QS, Bi-Xenon, Bose, Blinds, Electric Everything, retrofitted RNS-D, 191K Miles
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st March 2015, 10:27 PM
Burnzybubbles's Avatar
Burnzybubbles Burnzybubbles is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 294
Default

You can also swap out your phone gubbins for a Bluetooth unit like some of us have.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd March 2015, 03:27 AM
Delboy's Avatar
Delboy Delboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk
Posts: 2,492
Default

Mines always been Bluetooth and connects as soon as I get in.
__________________
Del

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd March 2015, 01:00 PM
kmthor kmthor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnzybubbles View Post
You can also swap out your phone gubbins for a Bluetooth unit like some of us have.
do you have any details of what you used for the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd March 2015, 01:34 PM
Joe2.0E Joe2.0E is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 428
Default Bluetooth module

Hi,
I had a Kufatec bluetooth module fitted in place of the original motorola module. It is located under the floor carpet in the front passenger footwell.
Unit is a Kufatec Fiscon Pro and works just like the factory bluetooth available on later models of the D3. Not a cheap solution, unit is almost 400 !
One can also play music via bluetooth but sound quality is only fair.
Much better than an aftermarket "parrot" type unit stuck on the dash though.
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd March 2015, 02:35 PM
PsYcHe PsYcHe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Blantyre, Scotland
Posts: 4,136
Default

http://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=908 covers the swap using the genuine Audi components.
__________________
2010 Jag XF 3.0D Portfolio S

I know.. I know..

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd March 2015, 03:10 PM
tintin tintin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe2.0E View Post
Hi,
I had a Kufatec bluetooth module fitted in place of the original motorola module. It is located under the floor carpet in the front passenger footwell.
Unit is a Kufatec Fiscon Pro and works just like the factory bluetooth available on later models of the D3. Not a cheap solution, unit is almost 400 !
One can also play music via bluetooth but sound quality is only fair.
Much better than an aftermarket "parrot" type unit stuck on the dash though.
Joe
Parrrot Mk9200 gives the same result, but with full Bose quality for about the same price (or less)…. Plus the ability to handle more than one phone.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd March 2015, 03:14 PM
PsYcHe PsYcHe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Blantyre, Scotland
Posts: 4,136
Default

The Mk9200 is good.. got one in SWMBOs X5.

Or there's the good old Dension unit as well.
__________________
2010 Jag XF 3.0D Portfolio S

I know.. I know..

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd March 2015, 07:20 PM
Burnzybubbles's Avatar
Burnzybubbles Burnzybubbles is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmthor View Post
do you have any details of what you used for the upgrade?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcHe View Post
http://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=908 covers the swap using the genuine Audi components.
That's the info I used down to a tee, worked very well thanks to PsYcHe, I got the second hand module for about 150 iirc from Eastern Europe on eBay, then got the connector from audi for about 6 and took 10 minutes to fit, you don't need to remove the seat, just remove sill trim and kick plate and peel back the carpet until you have access to the black plastic housing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.